Panch Badri Yatra

The five Badries are revered by all as the apt tribute to Lord Vishnu. Badrinath is devoted to the worship of Vishnu who, according to an amusing tale, usurped this place from Shiva. For Vishnu had come here as the gods once did, to offer penance. He loved the place so much that he plotted to unseat Shiva from his meditation here. He took on the form of a beautiful child and began to wail. Shiva's wife, Parvati picked him up but could not calm the child. Since his wailing continued to disturb Shiva, he shifted to Kedarnath in exasperation, leaving the spot free for Vishnu to occupy. But remainders of Shiva's stay continue to linger, most visibly in the name, badri, a kind of berry that Shiva was most fond of, and the gigantic tree, invisible to the morale eye, that served Shiva. Considered one of the Char Dgam or four principle places of Hindu worship at himalayas, Badrinath's four subsidiary badries include Bhavishya Badri, Yogdhyan Badri, Vridha Badri and Adi Badri.

Click for more detail on Panch Badri


Day to Day Itinerary

Day 01 :  Delhi - Haridwar - Srinagar
Day 02 : Srinagar Badrinath
Day 03 : Badrinath Darshan
Day 04 : Badrinath - Yogdhyan Badri - Joshimath
Day 05 : Joshimath - Bhavishya Badri Joshimath
Day 06 : Joshimath - Vridh badri - Karan Prayag
Day 07 : Karan Prayag - Adibadri Srinagar
Day 08 : Srinagar - Rishikesh - Delhi

Copyright 2006-2012, All Rights reserved to